Materials for Virtue / Incandescent Flare

Yen Chun Lin, Teresa Margolles, Laura Ní Fhlaibhín, Jennifer Tee 06 05 2022 – 11 06 2022

„It was March when flowers began to blossom. In the face of everything, the flowers were still blossoming.“

 

Es war ein Jahr, und dann waren es zwei. Ein unaufhörlicher Kreislauf von Verlust und Leid, von Trauern und Aufstehen, Stillstehen und Auskommen. Die lange Konversation über die Distanz, die zwischen uns und dem vermittelten Bild besteht, flammte wieder auf. Zahlen, Krankenhausbetten, medizinische Uniformen, Proteste, Polizei, Vertreibung, Krieg, noch mehr Vertreibung. Diese kahlen Baumkronen blühen immer wieder auf: ihre Schönheit ist so unbekümmert, so unversöhnlich und so notwendig. Wir finden Erleichterung in Materialien, die eine Langlebigkeit besitzen, welche uns weit überdauern wird. Wie Erbstücke, die über Generationen weitergegeben werden, oder die Archive, die die Namen der Vorfahren enthalten, oder die Fossilien, die seit Jahrtausenden im Gestein konserviert sind.

 

Teresa Margolles bietet eine Referenz für die Distanz zwischen Materialität und Fotografie. Politische Kontexte im Zusammenhang mit Gewalt gegen Frauen, Migration und Menschenhandel werden direkt in den Galerieraum gebracht, um uns mit vergangenen und aktuellen Grausamkeiten zu konfrontieren. In Tela en el Desierto (2018) setzt sich Margolles mit der Landschaft auseinander, die mit den Erinnerungen von Frauen übersät ist, welche in der mexikanischen Region Juárez gefunden wurden, wo die Bevölkerung nach wie vor von hohen Femizidraten geplagt wird. Der Stoff wurde in der Landschaft ausgelegt, in der die Körper der Frauen lagen und wird neben der Fotografie präsentiert, um die desensibilisierende Flut des gegenwärtigen Nachrichtenzyklus zu durchbrechen. Der Horizont am blauen Himmel trifft auf die trockene, rissige, topasfarbene Erde der ungepflasterten Straßen, wo Flüssigkeit schnell in die Luft verdampft.

 

In den sanften Hügeln im Südosten Irlands verweisen Laura Ní Fhlaibhíns Öl- und Metallarbeiten auf persönliche Geschichten, Amulette für ein ekstatisches Leben nach dem Tod, Folklore und die tödliche Realität der Petro-Kultur. Gegossene Bronzeamulette aus früheren Tonarbeiten, Mergel-Geisterwesen, sind an Ketten aus rostfreiem Stahl geschweißt, die ein zusammenhängendes System von Bruch und Reparatur durch die Galerieräume beschwören. Oft romantisiertes Landleben trifft auf hyper-maskulines Motorrad und Höchstgeschwindigkeiten auf kurvenreichen Landstraßen. Der Waldpilz, den Laura von einem Freund in Wicklow geschenkt bekam, ist in Bronze versteinert und bewacht das Motorradöl-Opfer, das die Toten in Ehren hält. Metallketten und medizinische Geräte durchdringen weiche, von Öl und Kohlenstoff durchtränkte Materialien. Zarte, wirbelnde Spuren von Schnecken und Geisterwesen auf Inkontinenzlaken tanzen wie Fett auf Wasser.

 

Beim Schwimmen im saphirblauen Meer vor der Küste Taiwans hatte Yen Chun Lin die traumartige Vision eines Körpers, der sich in einen Wal verwandelt und sich dann im Wasser auflöst. In einer Reihe neuer Arbeiten verschmelzen persönliche Erfahrung und Erbe zu einer Installation, die auf kosmisches Hören und Reinkarnation verweist. Einer der animalistischen Glaubenssätze der Inseln um Taiwan besagt, dass die Seele Fragmente aller Lebewesen enthält, einschließlich Tieren, Pflanzen und Steinen. Wenn jemand stirbt, spalten sich diese Teile ab und kehren zu ihrem Ursprung zurück, aber wir besitzen auch ein menschliches Element – diese gehen zu einem namenlosen Riff nicht weit von der Orchideeninsel, wo sie als Erinnerung gesammelt werden. Dort schenkte ihr ein Freund einen Knochen, ein Stück der Wirbelsäule eines Wals, das als Teil der Insel Tausende von unbekannten Erinnerungen enthält.

 

Yen Chun Lin verweist auf Grenzbereiche, zwischen Innen und Außen, Leben und Tod, zwischen Sichtbarem und Unsichtbarem, zwischen Hörbarem und Halluzination, zwischen materiellen und immateriellen Wirklichkeiten. Leisen Stimmen zu lauschen, ist eine Praxis der Fürsorge für die Welt, die wir mit allen Lebewesen bewohnen. Sieben Zinngüsse spannen einen kosmischen Bogen durch den Raum – der letzte enthält ein Wasserbecken, das an hellen Tagen gegen 15:45 Uhr die Sonnenstrahlen einfängt. Diese Performance ist eine kurze Aktivierung, die die Skulpturen auf die Sonne in Einklang bringt. Ein dünner roter Faden verbindet die Skulpturen miteinander. Obwohl er fast unsichtbar ist, durchläuft er diese Welt in eine Geisterwelt und in vergangene Leben.

 

Jennifer Tees Tulpenblatt-Collagen Tampan Tulip (2014-heute) verweisen auf traditionelle indonesische Webarbeiten und reflektieren gleichzeitig über Migration, den Verlust der Heimat und den Lauf des Lebens. Die ursprünglichen Entwürfe wurden für Bestattungszwecke und als Glücksbringer für Seefahrer angefertigt – sie vermitteln die Vorstellung von physischen und spirituellen Reisen. Diese traditionellen Webarbeiten wurden jahrhundertelang von Kunsthandwerkern ausgeführt, die das Handwerk von Generation zu Generation weitergaben. In ihnen wird das Leben durch das Weltbild der indigenen Bevölkerung der Region Lampung in Süd-Sumatra als Schoß und spiegelnde Oberfläche beschrieben. Eine obere und eine untere Welt schattieren einander wie die Oberfläche des Flusses Styx – eine wässrige Trennung zwischen dieser und anderen Welten.

 

Tees eigene Herkunft weckte ihr Interesse an diesen Objekten, die sie seitdem erforscht. Ihr niederländischer Großvater war Tulpenhändler, und ihr Vater wanderte nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg von Indonesien in die Niederlande aus. Die Verwendung dieser zeremoniellen Wandteppiche endete mit dem berühmten Ausbruch des Krakatoa, der zeitgleich mit dem kulturellen und sozialen Umbruch des niederländischen Kolonialismus und der Extraktionspolitik der VOC stattfand. Tulpen sind seit der bekannten „Tulpenmanie“ im 17. Jahrhundert ein Symbol für die Niederlande, und dieses immer noch sehr präsente kulturelle Artefakt verschmilzt mit einem, das verloren gegangen ist. Obwohl ein Großteil der ursprünglichen Bedeutung dieser Muster verloren gegangen ist, erweckt Tee sie durch zeitgenössische Nacherzählungen zu neuem Leben, die nicht versuchen, sie künstlich zu reproduzieren, sondern sie aus der Perspektive einer multikulturellen niederländischen Gesellschaft neu zu interpretieren.

 

„The volcano split the island in two, it set the forest on fire. But amid the settled volcanic ash, the first sprigs of succulents grasped towards the sun. Their lizard-like stubby limbs rose, and then those small yellow flowers surrounded by shards of obsidian peeked their heavy heads towards clear blue skies“.

 

Yen Chun Lin (geb. 1990, Taiwan; lebt und arbeitet in London und Berlin) arbeitet hauptsächlich mit skulpturalen Installationen, die durch immersive Klanglandschaften und spekulative Wissenschaft aktiviert werden. Sie hat einen Master in Fine Arts der Goldsmiths University in London. Ihre jüngsten Ausstellungen fanden u.a. statt im Taipei Fine Art Museum (Taiwan); Catinca Tabacaru & Sandwich Gallery (Bukarest); Garage Gallery (Prag); Oen Gallery (Kabelvåg); und Gossamer Fog (London). Sie ist Trägerin des Hauptpreises des Taipei Art Award 2021. Derzeit ist sie Artist-in-Residence bei Rupert, einem Zentrum für Kunst, Residenzen und Bildung in Vilnius, Litauen.

 

Teresa Margolles (geb. 1963, Culiacán, Sinaloa, Mexiko) untersucht die sozialen und ästhetischen Dimensionen von Konflikten und schafft skulpturale Installationen, Fotografien, Filme und Performances, die von den materiellen Spuren des Todes durchdrungen sind. Teresa Margolles ist ausgebildete Gerichtsmedizinerin und war in den frühen 1990er Jahren als Leichenbestatterin in Mexiko-Stadt tätig. Zu ihren jüngsten Ausstellungen zählen u.a.: Kunsthalle Krems (Österreich); Musée d’art de la Province de Hainaut, (Charleroi); Museo de la Solidaridad Salvador Allende (Santiago); Museo de Arte Moderno de Bogotá (Kolumbien); daadgalerie (Berlin), Witte de With (Rotterdam); Padiglione d’Arte Contemporanea (Mailand) und die Kunsthalle Fridericianum (Kassel).

 

Laura Ní Fhlaibhín (geb. in Dublin; lebt und arbeitet in London und Irland) arbeitet mit Materialien, die mit Heilung und Nähren zu tun haben. Sie kommen als Talismane oder Rituale im Raum zusammen, die sich auf Mythen und persönliche Geschichten beziehen. Zu den jüngsten Ausstellungen gehörten: Belmacz London, Pallas Projects, Dublin, Whitgift Centre Croydon, Palfrey Space, London; Burren College of Art, Irland; Deptford X, London; Tulca Festival of Visual Arts, Galway; Newington Art Space, London; Enclave, London; Space Union, Seoul; und The Lab, Dublin u.a.

 

Jennifer Tee (geb. 1973, lebt und arbeitet in Amsterdam) arbeitet mit Skulptur als Installation, Collage und Performance. Von 2000 bis 2001 besuchte Tee die Rijksacademie van Beeldende Kunsten in Amsterdam. Ihre Arbeiten wurden unter anderem im Centraal Museum (Utrecht), in der Rozenstraat (Amsterdam), in der Sonsbeek 20 -> 24 (Arnheim), im Stedelijk Museum (Amsterdam), auf der 16. Istanbul Biennale (Türkei), bei Eastside Projects (Birmingham), auf der 33. Biennale de São Paolo (Brasilien), im Camden Arts Centre in (London), im Rijksmuseum (Amsterdam), auf der MANIFESTA 11 (Zürich) und in der Kunsthal Charlottenborg (Kopenhagen) ausgestellt. Tee wurde mehrfach ausgezeichnet, unter anderem mit dem Amsterdam Prize for the Arts 2020 in der Kategorie „proven quality“.

 

Àngels Miralda (geb. 1990, lebt und arbeitet in Katalonien und Amsterdam) interessiert sich für das, was man als geheime Politik von Materialität bezeichnen kann. Dazu gehört die Überzeugung, dass Materialien eingebettete Bedeutungen enthalten, die sich auf globale Ketten von Gewinnung, Handel und Industrie beziehen. Sie ist Beiträgerin der Artforum Critics‘ Picks und war Autorin mehrerer Kataloge, die von der Tallinn Art Hall & Lugemik (Tallinn), dem Künstlerhaus Bethanien (Berlin), der Grimm Gallery (Amsterdam), der Casa Velázquez (Madrid) und der Academy of Performing Arts (Prag) veröffentlicht wurden. Sie organisierte Ausstellungen in der Kunsthalle Tallinn, im MGLC – Internationales Zentrum für grafische Künste (Ljubljana), in De Appel (Amsterdam), in der Galerija Miroslav Kraljevic (Zagreb), im Museum für zeitgenössische Kunst von Chile (Santiago), im Museu de Angra do Heroísmo (Terceira – Azoren) und im Lettischen Zentrum für zeitgenössische Kunst (Riga).

Overview

Yen Chun Lin

Teresa Margolles

Laura Ní Fhlaibhín

Jennifer Tee

 

Kuratiert von Àngels Miralda

Credits

Àngels Miralda (Text)

Dirk Tacke (Fotografie)

Ausstellungsansichten

Werke

Jennifer Tee

Tampan the Collected Body, 2018

Details
Jennifer Tee

Tampan the Collected Body #2, 2020

Details
Jennifer Tee

Tampan Cradeled Souls #2, 2020

Details
Laura Ní Fhlaibhín

A tally of carbon mounts, 2022

Details
Laura Ní Fhlaibhín

Trailblazer, 2022

Details
Laura Ní Fhlaibhín

In the spirited universe, 2022

Details
Laura Ní Fhlaibhín

Toe suckers and seekers, 2021

Details
Laura Ní Fhlaibhín

Amulets for an ecstatic afterlife, 2021

Details
Teresa Margolles

Tela en el desierto (Fabric in the desert), 2018

Details
Yen Chun Lin

We don’t know where they are bringing us to, whom we will fall into, 2022

Details

Die Ausstellung wird unterstützt von

Materials for Virtue / Incandescent Flare

Yen Chun Lin, Teresa Margolles, Laura Ní Fhlaibhín, Jennifer Tee 06 05 2022 – 11 06 2022

“It was March when flowers began to blossom. In the face of everything, the flowers were still blossoming.”

 

It was one year, and then it was two. A relentless cycle of loss and grief, mourning and getting up, standing still, and making do. The long conversation about the distance that exists between us and the mediated image flared back up. Numbers, hospital beds, medical uniforms, protests, police, displacement, war, more displacement. These bare tips of trees always return to flower: their beauty is so reckless, so unforgiving, and so necessary. We find relief in materials that contain longevity that will far outlive us. Like heirlooms passed on over the course of generations, or the archives that contain the names of ancestors, or the fossils preserved in rocks for millennia.

 

Teresa Margolles is a reference on the distance between materiality and photography. Political contexts related with violence against women, migration, and human trafficking are brought directly into the gallery space to put us face-to-face with past and present atrocities. In Tela en el Desierto (2018) Margolles confronts the landscape dotted with memories of women found in the Juárez region of Mexico where high indexes of femicide continue to plague the population. The fabric is laid out within the landscape where their bodies lay, and is presented next to the photograph, breaking the desensitising barrage of the contemporary news cycle. The horizon on a blue sky is met with the dry cracked topaz earth of unpaved streets where liquid rapidly evaporates into air.

 

In the rolling hills of South-Eastern Ireland, Laura Ní Fhlaibhín’s works in oil and metal reference personal histories, amulets for an ecstatic afterlife, folklore, and the mortal reality of petro-culture. Cast bronze amulets from earlier clay works, marl spirit creatures, are welded onto lengths of stainless steel chain, conjuring an interconnected system of rupture and repair through the gallery rooms. An often-romanticised rural life leaks into the hyper-masculine motorbike and top velocities on winding country roads. Forest Fungus, gifted to Laura from a friend in Wicklow, is fossilised in bronze and guards the motorbike-oil offering, holding the dead dear. Metal chains and medical equipment pierce through soft materials drenched in oil and carbon. Delicate swirling traces of slugs and spirit creatures on bed incontinence sheets dance like grease on water.

 

Swimming in a sapphire sea off the coast of Taiwan, Yen Chun Lin had a dream-like vision of a body becoming a whale, and then dissolving into water. In a series of new works, personal experience and heritage merge into an installation that references cosmic listening and reincarnation. One of the beliefs of animalism from the islands around Taiwan is that the soul contains fragments of all beings, including animals, plants, and stones. When someone passes away, these pieces split apart and return to their origins, but we also contain a human element – this one goes to an unnamed reef not far from Orchid Island where they are collected as memory. There, a friend of hers gave her a bone, a piece of a whale’s spine that, being part of the island, contains thousands of unknown memories.

 

Yen Chun Lin points towards liminal areas, between inside and outside, life and death, between visible and invisible, between audible and hallucination, between material and immaterial realities. Listening to quiet voices is a practice of caring for the world that we inhabit with all creatures. Seven pewter casts arc across the room in a cosmic arc – the last contains a pool of water that catches the sun’s rays at around 3:45pm on bright days. This performance is a brief activation that aligns the sculptures with the sun. A thin red thread ties the sculptures together. Although it is nearly invisible, it traverses this world to a spirit world and to past lives.

 

Jennifer Tee’s tulip petal collages Tampan Tulip (2014-present) reference traditional Indonesian weavings while reflecting on migration, loss of homelands, and the passage of life. The original designs were made for funerary purposes and for luck to seafarers – sharing the notion of physical and spiritual voyages. These traditional weavings were practised for centuries by artisans who passed on the trade from generation to generation. In them, life is described through understandings of the world from the indigenous populations of the Lampung region in south Sumatra as womb and reflective surface. A world above and a world below generally shadow each other like the surface of the river Styx – a watery separation between here and other worlds.

 

Tee’s own heritage sparked her initial interest in these objects and has researched them since. Her Dutch grandfather was a tulip trader, and her father migrated from Indonesia to the Netherlands after the second world war. The use of these ceremonial tapestries ceased with the famous eruption of Krakatoa which was simultaneous with the cultural and social upheaval of Dutch colonialism and the extractionism of the VOC. Tulips are a symbol of the Netherlands since the well-known 17th century ‘tulip mania,’ and this still very present cultural artefact melds with one that has been lost. Although much of the original meaning of these patterns has been lost, Tee gives them new life through contemporary retellings that attempt not to artificially reproduce, but to reimagine them from the perspective of a multicultural Dutch society.

 

“The volcano split the island in two, it set the forest on fire. But amid the settled volcanic ash, the first sprigs of succulents grasped towards the sun. Their lizard-like stubby limbs rose, and then those small yellow flowers surrounded by shards of obsidian peeked their heavy heads towards clear blue skies.”

 

Yen Chun Lin (b. 1990, Taiwan; lives and works between London and Berlin) works mainly with sculptural installations that are activated by immersive soundscapes and speculative science. She received a Master in Fine Arts from Goldsmiths University in London. Recent exhibitions have taken place at: Taipei Fine Art Museum (Taiwan); Catinca Tabacaru & Sandwich Gallery (Bucharest); Garage Gallery (Prague); Oen Gallery (Kabelvåg); and Gossamer Fog (London) among others. She is the recipient of the 2021 Taipei Art Award grand prize. She is a current artist-in-residence at Rupert, a centre for art, residencies and education in Vilnius, Lithuania.

 

Teresa Margolles (b. 1963, Culiacán, Sinaloa, Mexico) investigates the social and aesthetic dimensions of conflict, creating sculptural installations, photographs, films, and performances imbued with material traces of death. Trained as a forensic pathologist, Teresa Margolles was employed in the early 1990’s as a mortician in Mexico City. Her recent exhibitions include: Kunsthalle Krems (Austria); Musée d’art de la Province de Hainaut, (Charleroi); Museo de la Solidaridad Salvador Allende (Santiago); Museo de Arte Moderno de Bogotá (Colombia); daadgalerie (Berlin), Witte de With (Rotterdam); Padiglione d’Arte Contemporanea (Milan) and the Kunsthalle Fridericianum (Kassel) among others.

 

Laura Ní Fhlaibhín (b. Dublin; lives and works between London and Ireland) works with materials related to healing and nourishment. They come together as talismans or rituals within space that refer to myth and personal stories. Recent exhibitions have included Belmacz London, Pallas Projects, Dublin, Whitgift Centre Croydon, Palfrey Space, London; Burren College of Art, Ireland; Deptford X, London; Tulca Festival of Visual Arts, Galway; Newington Art Space, London; Enclave, London; Space Union, Seoul; and The Lab, Dublin among others.

 

Jennifer Tee (b. 1973, lives and works in Amsterdam) works with sculpture as installation, collage, and performance. From 2000 to 2001, Tee attended the Rijksacademie van Beeldende Kunsten in Amsterdam. Her work has been exhibited at Centraal Museum (Utrecht); Rozenstraat (Amsterdam); Sonsbeek 20 -> 24 (Arnhem); Stedelijk Museum (Amsterdam); 16th Istanbul Biennial (Turkey); Eastside Projects (Birmingham); 33rd Biennial de São Paolo (Brazil), Camden Arts Centre in (London); the Rijksmuseum (Amsterdam); MANIFESTA 11 (Zurich); and Kunsthal Charlottenborg (Copenhagen) among others. Tee has won several awards, including the 2020 Amsterdam Prize for the Arts in the category “proven quality.”

 

Àngels Miralda (b. 1990, lives and works between Catalonia and Amsterdam) is interested in what can be described as a secret politics of materiality. This includes the belief that materials contain embedded meanings, relating to global chains of extraction, trade, and industry. She is a contributor to Artforums Critics’ Picks and has been an author in multiple catalogues published by Tallinn Art Hall & Lugemik (Tallinn), Künstlerhaus Bethanien (Berlin), Grimm Gallery (Amsterdam), Casa Velázquez (Madrid), and the Academy of Performing Arts (Prague). She has organised exhibitions at the Tallinn Art Hall, MGLC – International Centre for Graphic Arts (Ljubljana), De Appel (Amsterdam), Galerija Miroslav Kraljevic (Zagreb), the Museum of Contemporary Art of Chile (Santiago), Museu de Angra do Heroísmo (Terceira – Azores), and the Latvian Centre for Contemporary Art (Riga).

Overview

Yen Chun Lin

Teresa Margolles

Laura Ní Fhlaibhín

Jennifer Tee

 

Curated by Àngels Miralda

Credits

Àngels Miralda (text)

Dirk Tacke (photography)

Installation Views

Works

Jennifer Tee

Tampan the Collected Body, 2018

Details
Jennifer Tee

Tampan the Collected Body #2, 2020

Details
Jennifer Tee

Tampan Cradeled Souls #2, 2020

Details
Laura Ní Fhlaibhín

A tally of carbon mounts, 2022

Details
Laura Ní Fhlaibhín

Trailblazer, 2022

Details
Laura Ní Fhlaibhín

In the spirited universe, 2022

Details
Laura Ní Fhlaibhín

Toe suckers and seekers, 2021

Details
Laura Ní Fhlaibhín

Amulets for an ecstatic afterlife, 2021

Details
Teresa Margolles

Tela en el desierto (Fabric in the desert), 2018

Details
Yen Chun Lin

We don’t know where they are bringing us to, whom we will fall into, 2022

Details

The exhibition is supported by